TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES Regular Town Council Meeting December 12, 2023

Council Members: Mayor Paige, VM Moss, CM Baker, CM Harris, CM Venable

Council Members Absent: CM Frank, CM Reams

Others: Dennis Carney, Consultant for SLFRF, Faye Shumaker, Sandra Moss, Bob Pinelli, James G. O'Bryant, Janet Heath, Rev. Bates, Mr. Ball, Kim Wooten, Deputy Clerk County of Buckingham

Call to Order at 7:00 p.m.

Open the Meeting: The meeting was held at 1030 Main Street, Dillwyn, VA (Town Hall). Mayor Paige established that a quorum was present. VM Moss offered the invocation. The Pledge of Allegiance was said by everyone.

The new Town Council Members were sworn in to by Deputy Clerk Kim Wooten office for the 2024-2025 term, Janel Venable, Mayor Karen S. Moss, Sharon Baker, Sandra Moss, Faye Shumaker, and Robert Pinelli.

Minutes: VM Moss made a motion to accept the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by CM Harris. All others: Aye. The motion carried.

Dennis Carney: Mr. Carney gave an updated report (see attached).

ZONING FOR RESIDENTIAL AND BUSINESS:

Zoning and Residential:

Ordinances:

PARK EVENTS:

GRASS CUTTING:

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

(discussion on items)

The Christmas Parade was discussed due to the weather forecast for rain. It was decided that the Christmas Parade Committee be contacted and allow them to make the decision.

A citizen of the Town made a request that flags of individual veterans be displayed on Veteran's Day. No action was taken.

NEW BUSINESS:

It was motioned and seconded that the town employees be given a \$50.00 gift card for Christmas. The motion passed.

Contract for Mills Heating & Air was discussed. It was suggested that Nick Fraykor and Chuck Llewellyn be contacted and ask for a bid.

Plaques were given to Mayor Paige and CM Harris for their service to the Town Council.

The Mayor noted that the shredding is not completed. Also, the days that the Town Hall will be closed for the holidays.

Announcements:

COMMITTEES:

Finance – Karen Sue Moss, Janel Venable

Town Buildings/Grounds – Gilbert W. Reams

Planning Commission – James O'Bryant, Joseph Patterson, Beverly Hudgins-King, Dennis W. Carney, Robert L. Pinelli

Beautification – Gilbert Reams, Sandra Moss, Mark Brown, Tricia Taylor

Ordinance – Karen S. Moss, Janel Venable

Christmas Parade - Diane Holman-James, Sarah Walker, Sharon Baker, Amy Call

Community Service Workers – RW Maxey, Janel Venable

Halloween Event – Sharon Baker, Gilbert W. Reams, Melissa Wallace, Buckingham Chamber of Commerce, Adrian Jones

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 7:33 p.m.